Basic Kayaking

Post

This course is designed to introduce the beginning paddler to the three most widely used recreational kayaks, correct paddling techniques, navigation and safety on Lake Natoma. The first day instruction will start with sit on top Kayaks, then move to a more technical boat called the surf ski. The second day will incorporate all of the skills in a Viking touring boat. Our ACA certified instructors create a friendly, welcoming environment for all participants regardless of age, ability or skill. Once you have completed this course, you are eligible to rent any equipment in which you have shown competence through this course.

smiling man kayaking

Course Details

Length: 6 Hours
Minimum Enrollment: 3
Maximum Enrollment: 6
Minimum Age Requirement: 12

Pricing

Sac State Students: $70
Affiliates: $95
General Public: $105

What to Expect

  • A swim test is required.
  • You will get wet! Bring a towel.
  • You should wear clothes that are comfortable and can get wet.
  • Most appropriate shoes are a “Teva Type” sandal or  tennis shoes.
  • NO FLIP FLOPS!
  • The Front Office staff can hold your keys during class.
  • Any other personal belongings may be stored in a $0.50 one-time use locker. (Takes 2 quarters)
  • Expect to arrive at least 15 minutes early to complete the registration and check-in process.

2022 Basic Kayaking Class Schedule

Section Start Date End Date Days Time
KAYAK01 Apr 5 Apr 7 Tu & Wed 4:30 PM – 7:30 PM
KAYAK02 Apr 20 Apr 21 Wed &Th 4:30 PM – 7:30 PM
KAYAK03 Apr 23 Apr 24 Sat & Sun 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
KAYAK04 May 3 May 4 Tu & Wed 5:30 PM – 8:30 PM
KAYAK05 May 21 May 22 Sa & Su 12:00 PM – 3:00 PM
KAYAK06 May 25 May 26 Wed & Th 5:30 PM – 8:30 PM
KAYAK07 June 7 June 8 Tu & Wed 5:30 PM – 8:30 PM
KAYAK08 June 20 June 21 Mon & Tu 5:30 PM – 8:30 PM
KAYAK09 June 25 June 26 Sat & Sun 10:00 AM – 1:00 PM
KAYAK010 July 5 July 6 Tu & Wed 5:30 PM – 8:30 PM
KAYAK011 July 16 July 17 Sat & Sun 12:00 PM – 3:00 PM
KAYAK012 July 26 July 27 Tu & Wed 5:30 PM – 8:30 PM
KAYAK013 Aug 6 Aug 7 Sat & Sun 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
KAYAK014 Aug 17 Aug 18 Wed & Th 5:30 PM – 8:30 PM
KAYAK015 Aug 27 Aug 28 Sat & Sun 11:00 AM – 2:00 PM
KAYAK016 Sept 10 Sept 11 Sat & Sun 1:00 PM – 4:00 PM
KAYAK017 Sept 19 Sept 20  Mon & Tu 4:30 PM – 7:30 PM
KAYAK018 Sept 24 Sept 25 Sat & Sun 1:00 PM – 4:00 PM
KAYAK019 Oct 1 Oct 2 Sat & Sun 12:00 PM – 3:00 PM
KAYAK020 Oct 8 Oct 9 Sat & Sun 12:00 PM – 3:00 PM

Register Online Here