Basic Sailing Class

Post
 It can also serve as a refresher course for those who have not recently sailed. The 14 hour course covers boating safety, knots, rigging and sailing theory. On the water skills such as boat handling, docking, sail trim and capsize recovery will be taught on Quest sailboats. Upon successful completion of this course graduates will be given a free two hour rental card and are eligible to rent Quests and join the Sacramento State Aquatic Center Sailing Membership. This class follows the guidelines set by US Sailing but does not offer a US Sailing certificate. 

people sailing

The book used for this course if the Learn Sailing Right Beginning Sailing book (IBSN: 978-0-979467-2-1). The book is included in the cost of the class. Picking up your book early is recommended but not required.

Course Details

Length: 14 hours
Minimum Enrollment: 4
Maximum Enrollment: 12
Minimum Age Requirement: 12

Pricing

Sac State Students: $150
Affiliate: $170
General Public: $185

What to Expect

  • You will get wet! Bring a towel
  • You should wear clothes that are comfortable and can get wet
  • Shoes should either be tennis shoes or sandals with a heel strap
  • NO FLIP FLOPS
  • The Front Office staff can hold your keys during class.
  • Any other personal belongings can be stored in our $0.50 one-time use locker; which takes two quarters.
  • Expect to arrive at least 15 minutes early to complete the registration and check-in process.

2020 Basic Sailing Class Schedule

Registration open!

Section Start Date End Date Days Time
BSAIL01 Mar 7 Mar 15 Sat & Sun 2:00 PM – 5:30 PM
BSAIL02 Mar 9 Mar 12 Mon – Th 2:30 PM – 6:00 PM
BSAIL03 Mar 14 Mar 22 Sat & Sun 11:00 AM – 2:30 PM
BSAIL04 Mar 16 Mar 22 Mon – Th 3:30 PM – 7:00 PM
BSAIL05 Mar 28 Apr 5 Sat & Sun 12:00 PM – 3:30 PM
BSAIL06 Mar 30 Apr 2 Mon – Th 3:30 PM – 7:00 PM
BSAIL07 Apr 13 Apr 16 Mon – Th 4:00 PM – 7:30 PM
BSAIL08 Apr 20 Apr 23 Mon – Th 4:00 PM – 7:30 PM
BSAIL09 May 4 May 7 Mon – Th 4:00 PM – 7:30 PM
BSAIL010 May 11 May 14 Mon – Th 4:00 PM – 7:30 PM
BSAIL011 May 18 May 21 Mon – Th 4:00 PM – 7:30 PM
BSAIL012 May 30 Jun 7 Sat & Sun 9:00 AM – 12:30 PM
BSAIL013 Jun 8 Jun 11 Mon – Th 4:30 PM – 8:00 PM
BSAIL014 Jun 13 Jun 21 Sat & Sun 1:00 PM – 4:30 PM
BSAIL015 Jun 15 Jun 18 Mon – Th 4:30 PM – 8:00 PM
BSAIL016 Jun 22 Jun 25 Mon – Th 4:30 PM – 8:00 PM
BSAIL017 Jun 29 Jul 2 Mon – Th 5:00 PM – 8:30 PM
BSAIL018 Jul 6 Jul 9 Mon – Th 5:00 PM – 8:30 PM
BSAIL019 Jul 11 Jul 19 Sat & Sun 9:00 AM – 12:30 PM
BSAIL020 Jul 13 Jul 16 Mon – Th 5:00 PM – 8:30 PM
BSAIL021 Jul 20 Jul 23 Mon – Th 5:00 PM – 8:30 PM
BSAIL022 Jul 25 Aug 2 Sat & Sun 1:00 PM – 4:30 PM
BSAIL023 Jul 27 Jul 30 Mon – Th 5:00 PM – 8:30 PM
BSAIL024 Aug 3 Aug 6 Mon – Th 4:30 PM – 8:00 PM
BSAIL025 Aug 8 Aug 16 Sat & Sun 9:00 AM – 12:30 PM
BSAIL026 Aug 10 Aug 13 Mon – Th 4:30 PM – 8:00 PM
BSAIL027 Aug 17 Aug 20 Mon – Th 4:30 PM – 8:00 PM
BSAIL028 Aug 22 Aug 30 Sat & Sun 9:00 AM – 12:30 PM
BSAIL029 Aug 24 Aug 27 Mon – Th 4:00 PM – 7:30 PM
BSAIL030 Aug 31 Sep 3 Mon – Th 4:00 PM – 7:30 PM
BSAIL031 Sep 12 Sep 20 Sat & Sun 1:00 PM – 4:30 PM
BSAIL032 Sep 14 Sep 17 Mon – Th 3:30 PM – 7:00 PM
BSAIL033 Sep 26 Oct 4 Sat & Sun 9:30 AM – 1:00 PM
BSAIL034 Sep 28 Oct 1 Mon – Th 3:30 PM – 7:00 PM
BSAIL035 Oct 5 Oct 8 Mon – Th 3:30 PM – 7:00 PM
BSAIL036 Oct 19 Oct 22 Mon – Th 3:00 PM – 6:30 PM

Register Online Here

Commands