Stand-up Paddling

Post

Our small group SUP courses are designed for all skill and ability levels and will give advanced paddlers an opportunity to hone their techniques. Want to try your hand at the hottest new sport on the water? Sign up for one of our stand up paddleboard (SUP) classes and see what the excitement is about. Starting out in Waikiki in the 1930’s for surfers to more quickly paddle into waves, using a long canoe paddle became popular as an alternative to hand paddling and quickly standing. The sport largely dropped off the radar for many years, and was recently re-popularized when famous big wave surfer Laird Hamilton and some of his Hawaiian surf buddies started doing it using specialized boards and paddles.

stand up paddler

In addition to its colorful history, it‘s a great way to cruise the water seeing everything around and below you, and is one of the best whole body workouts you will ever do.

Course Details

Length: 3 Hours
Minimum Enrollment: 3
Maximum Enrollment: 6
Minimum Age Requirement: 10

Pricing

Sac State Students: $40
Affiliates: $55
General Public: $60

What to expect

  • A swim test is required.
  • You will get wet! Bring a towel.
  • You should wear clothes that are comfortable and can get wet.
  • Most appropriate shoes are tennis shoes.
  • NO FLIP FLOPS!
  • The Front Office staff can hold your keys during class.
  • Any other personal belongings may be stored in a $0.50 one-time use locker. (Takes 2 quarters)

2021 Stand Up Paddling Class Schedule

Section Date Day Time
SUP01 Mar 19 Fri 12:00 PM – 3:00 PM
SUP02 Mar 26 Fri 12:00 PM – 3:00 PM
SUP03 Apr 3 Sat 9:00 AM – 12:00 PM
SUP04 Apr 9 Fri 4:00 PM – 7:00 PM
SUP05 Apr 17 Sat 12:00 PM – 3:00 PM
SUP06 Apr 24 Sat 9:00 AM – 12:00 PM
SUP07 Apr 29 Thu 12:00 PM – 3:00 PM
SUP08 May 7 Fri 12:00 PM – 3:00 PM
SUP09 May 18 Tues 5:00 PM – 8:00 PM
SUP010 June 23 Wed 12:30 PM – 3:30 PM
SUP011 July 9 Fri 12:30 PM – 3:30 PM
SUP012 July 15 Thu 12:30 PM – 3:30 PM
SUP013 July 23 Fri 12:30 PM – 3:30 PM
SUP014 July 28 Wed 12:30 PM – 3:30 PM
SUP015      
SUP016 Aug 11 Wed 5:00 PM – 8:00 PM
SUP017 Aug 18 Wed 12:00 PM – 3:00 PM
SUP018 Aug 21 Sat 10:00 AM – 1:00 PM
SUP019 Aug 26 Thu 5:00 PM – 8:00 PM
SUP020 Aug 27 Fri 12:00 PM – 3:00 PM
SUP021 Aug 31 Tues 5:00 PM – 8:00 PM

Register Online Here