Basic Windsurfing

Post

This course is designed for those with little or no experience and will familiarize the student with the basic fundamentals of windsurfing. This class covers rigging, terminology, balance, stances and sailing theory. Instructors will utilize the latest techniques and a variety of sail sizes to decrease fatigue and help accelerate learning. Upon successful completion of this course, students will be eligible to rent these windsurfers and join the Aquatic Center Sailing Membership

man windsurfing

The book used for this course if the Start Windsurfing Right book (IBSN: 978-1882502967). The book is included in the cost of the class. Picking up your book early is recommended but not required.

Course Details

Length: 8 Hours
Minimum Enrollment: 3
Maximum Enrollment: 12
Minimum Age Requirement: 12

Pricing

Sac State Students: $80
Affiliate: $95
General Public: $105
*Textbook is included in this class.

Swim Test 

All students will be required to take a swim test.

What to Expect

  • You will get wet! Bring a towel
  • You should wear clothes that are comfortable and can get wet
  • Shoes should either be tennis shoes or sandals with a heel strap.
  • NO FLIP FLOPS
  • The Front Office staff can hold your keys during class.
  • Any other personal belongings will have to be stored in a $0.50 one-time use locker
  • Expect to arrive at least 15 minutes early to complete the registration and check-in process.

2020 Basic Windsurfing Class Schedule

Section Start Date End Date Days Time
WIND01 Mar 23

Mar 26

Mon – Th 5:00 PM – 7:00 PM
WIND02 Apr 20 Apr 23 Mon – Th 5:00 PM – 7:00 PM
WIND03 May 4 May 7 Mon – Th 6:00 PM – 8:00 PM
WIND04 May 11 May 14 Mon – Th 6:00 PM – 8:00 PM
WIND05 Jun 1 Jun 4 Mon – Th 6:00 PM – 8:00 PM
WIND06 Jun 13 Jun 14 Sat & Sun 2:00 PM – 6:00 PM
WIND07 Jun 29 Jul 2 Mon – Th 6:00 PM – 8:00 PM
WIND08 Jul 11 Jul 12 Sat & Sun 2:00 PM – 6:00 PM
WIND09 Aug 1 Aug 2 Sat & Sun 2:00 PM – 6:00 PM
WIND010 Aug 3 Aug 6 Mon – Th 6:00 PM – 8:00 PM
WIND011 Aug 15 Aug 16 Sat Sun 2:00 PM – 6:00 PM
WIND012 Aug 31 Sep 3 Mon – Th 5:30 PM – 7:30 PM
WIND013 Sep 12 Sep 13 Sat & Sun 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
WIND014 Sep 14 Sep 17 Mon – Th 5:30 PM – 7:30 PM

Register Online Here

Commands